just a quickie

This first blog of my trip to Kenya includes just a few pictures that represent some of the things that had an impact on me.  There will be a few more blogs when I figure out how to organize them.  And the rest will go in albums so this will all appear piecemeal, I’m afraid. 

These three pictures are from the Rothschild center.  The Rothschilds is an endangered species of giraffe. They have a very large enclosure which includes this platform from which you can feed the giraffe.  The females are much gentler and will take the food from your lips.  Being ‘kissed’ by a giraffe is an amazing experience!  The little lady feeding this giraffe is 83, a recent widow and apparently a well respected physicist. Quite a character!

 IMG_8577

IMG_8608

IMG_8626

The next few pictures are of the Maasai at their village.  Visiting the village was not something I realized we could do.   I am so glad that I did. 

Part of the dance includes the men taking turns jumping.  They jump simply from a standing position and could put most NBA stars to shame.

IMG_8991

It’s hard not to feel happy and cheerful around these colorful people!

IMG_8983

IMG_8999

We encountered these baboons sitting beside the road on our way to one of AWF’s conservancies.  These are olive baboons.  They are much smaller than the chacma baboons of southern Africa.  But who can resist a mother an infant or a big boy who can hardly stay awake.

IMG_9306   

IMG_9323

IMG_9317

 

Although the elephants at Amboseli are famous, we saw them only from the distance.  It was fun to watch them slog through the swampy areas and it was thrilling to see them walk in their endless lines along the horizon.  I missed the close proximity that I was privileged to experience at Mashatu.  No matter… it was a thrill to see the elephants I’ve read so much about.

IMG_9557

IMG_9469 

 

Much to our surprise, we came upon two lions mating who conveniently chose a spot just off the road.  I couldn’t believe I was actually seeing this happen only a few yards from me.  Needless to say, this is only two of many!

 IMG_9609

IMG_9620

 

Much to my surprise and delight we saw quite a few of these gerenuk!!  And the little tiny dik-diks!!

IMG_9819

IMG_9808

IMG_9824

 

Finally, I saw my first leopard in a tree with its kill!!!

 IMG_9833

IMG_9837

He was not happy with our presence so we didn’t stick around.  However, the next time we encountered him, he could have cared less.  Of course, the kill wasn’t as fresh as it appears to be here.

 

Next is a couple of pictures of the grevys zebra which I’ve heard so much about.  At this time of year they are fairly dispersed so we never saw too many gathered at any one time.

IMG_0439 

 IMG_0438

IMG_0446

Here at Samburu we met the AWF researcher who worked with the Grevy’s, another that worked with the wild dogs and young woman doing research on lions.  Each spent a morning in the vehicles with us.  I’ve learned so much!

 

We came upon this fellow who must have recently fed because he was covered with flies although his face looked clean.  He was magnificent!  There was no one else around because there was word of another wildebeest crossing so all the cars were in a hurry to get there.

 IMG_1036

IMG_1050

IMG_1053

He slowly wandered off.  We came across him later, about 100 yards from where he originally saw him completely crashed out under a bush.

 

These first couple of cheetah shots were taken while they stalking a single wildebeest calf.  It was probably a calf separated from its mother after a crossing.  It was hard not to feel partly responsible because these calves will follow vehicles when they’ve been separated from their herd and probably wouldn’t have last the night anyway.  Still……

IMG_1364 

IMG_1354

IMG_1352

 

These antelope, topi, are spread out over the vast Masai Mara and there was always one standing on a termite mound keeping a watchful eye for predators.

IMG_1472

 

The light was perfect and the cub was cute, how could I resist including it here?!?

IMG_1486 

 

I was thrilled to see hippos… everywhere there was water!  They were even hanging out in the river filled with the carcasses of dead wildebeest.

Hanging out doing nothing is such hard work!

IMG_2369

Kids will be kids no matter what kind of animal you are!  There was a second youngster that soon joined in to bug the crocodile.  That croc must have been too full to care.

IMG_1776 

 

I am including only one wildebeest crossing here.  We saw three crossings and there is so much to show that I will do that separately.  I will probably do a short blog to explain a few things but the rest will be an an album.  They will speak for themselves.

IMG_2297

 

Finally, a few pictures of the orphan elephants in Nairobi. I went there on my last day.  I have plenty more……:-)))) IMG_2720

IMG_2722

IMG_2730

IMG_2786

Guess this wasn’t such a short quick blog.  But at least I hope you have a sense of what I experienced.

3 thoughts on “just a quickie

  1. Oh yes, I defintely had a good sense of what you experienced by looking at your photos and reading your very interesting narrative. What a fantastic trip you had and almost feel like I was there with you. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. I have been waiting by the computer all day for this and it was worth the wait. I can see you had a great trip and you answered my eaarlier question but showing your leopard photos. Magnificent.A truly great shot of the lion cub as the sun was going down. I also love your shots from the Orphanage.

  3. Wonderful pics ALL! The babies at the Sheldrick Nursery are so cute. My group "The Elephant Commentator" fosters Makena, Orok & Sidai. They are all at the Ithumba Unit now. I foster little Kalama. Look forward to seeing more photos.

Leave a Reply

