Samburu

Samburu is a National Reserve.  The weather was much warmer although the nights were still a bit chilly.    These little dik-diks were common.  It’s hard to believe this is an antelope species because it is so small.   As you can see, they blend in well with their environment.

IMG_0415

IMG_9746

IMG_0409

Then there’s the gerenuk.  I have seen pictures of these guys but I never imagined that I would be taking my own.

     IMG_9804  

IMG_0327

IMG_9808 

IMG_9819 

IMG_0671

The oryx and their amazingly long horns is a large antelope that I haven’t seen before.

IMG_9915 

   IMG_0305

IMG_0097 

   IMG_9922 

Then there are the ubiquitous impala.  A ram and his little herd.

IMG_0577

IMG_0579  

The other creature I was looking forward to seeing was the Grevy’s zebra.  We also spent a day with a researcher who is focused on increasing their numbers.  There are only pockets of Grevy’s zebra left in the entire continent of Africa.  Obviously a highly endangered species.

IMG_0081 

IMG_0084 

IMG_0300   

IMG_0438 

     IMG_0439

 IMG_0630

IMG_0082

The reticulated giraffe is truly a beautiful animal.

IMG_0655

IMG_9758

IMG_9761 

 IMG_9763

IMG_9765  

 IMG_0494 

 IMG_0619

When you consider how tall a giraffe is and then see it in its landscape, you can easily feel the great expanse of Africa.  It is critical that the people of Africa can find a way to preserve these great expanses that hold such a diversity of life as they enter the industrialized world.   Such is the work of AWF.

IMG_0640

IMG_0652

Until I arrived in Kenya I didn’t know this ostrich existed.  This is the Somali ostrich which I’ve mentioned before.  I can’t get over how blue they are.

 IMG_0107

IMG_0102

Now that I’m on the subject of birds, check out this martial eagle.  Does he look perpetually pissed off???

IMG_0524 

    IMG_0518

IMG_0549

IMG_0536

IMG_0555

A few images of other birds..

blue naped mousebird

  IMG_0424 

IMG_0426

vulturine guinea fowl

IMG_0451 

superb starling

 IMG_0503  

secretary bird with ‘quills’ blowing in the wind.  I was so excited to see so many of them.

 IMG_9886

IMG_0208

gray kingfisher

IMG_9904 

tawny eagle with a meal

IMG_0147 

a barbet

 IMG_0387 

lilac breasted roller (my favorite, obviously)

IMG_0215 

A francolin, I think

 IMG_0233 

I think this is an African Pygmy falcon!

IMG_0394 

  IMG_0393

yellow and red billed hornbills

IMG_0367

 IMG_0125

I didn’t intend to get distracted by birds so the rest is going in a second blog.

3 thoughts on “Samburu

  1. These are absolutely superb. I love them all, but it was your martial eagle ones (especially the last one) that made me laugh out loud. I love the tiny dik diks, too. They have the tinest feet. Again, thanks so very much for sharing these great African wildlife photos with us.

  2. You captured some good shots here. The shots that stood out to me were the last shot of the Gerenuk male, the last shot of the Martial Eagle absolutely outstanding and the Grevy Zebra butt shot as he is walking away from the camera, with just his ears seen above his butt. Great shot.

  3. I love all of your photos. Great job! I read that there are more Grevy Zebras in captivity than there are in the wild. So sad.

Leave a Reply

