Masai Mara

This will be difficult.  We were at the Mara for four days so I have probably twice as many photos.  Even though I have done the wildebeest separately, sifting through the photos has been daunting.  Lions, cheetahs and leopards will turn up in their own blog since I take so many photographs of them.

OH, hello there,Welcome to the Masai Mara!

 IMG_0720

Follow me, I’ll show you around…

IMG_0723

It was fun to see the number of baby giraffe.  These giraffe were almost always near the runway.

 IMG_0761

IMG_0771

IMG_0772

Lots of hippos, wherever there was water… except when they’re out of the water.  There were several more that came sliding down the path back to the water.

 IMG_0796 

IMG_0800

IMG_0801

What a face!

IMG_0858

Hanging out in this pool is hard work.  I need to rest my head….

IMG_1786

Like I said, hanging out is hard work!

 IMG_1797

IMG_1787

Looks like this guy has been fighting.

IMG_1583 

Kids!  Always looking for trouble..

IMG_1777  

IMG_1782 

IMG_1781 

Does my butt look big when I swish my tail?

IMG_1759

WHAT…. did you say????

IMG_1760 

Back to plains… they are endless.  And the herds of wildebeest, zebra and other antelope seem endless as well.

IMG_0860

These are topi.  There is always one on the termite mounds keeping an eye on things.

 IMG_0864

IMG_0905  

 IMG_1473

IMG_2017 

Impala, grants, and topi in silhouette.

IMG_0890

Not a particularly interesting picture but to find an ostrich egg, obviously abandoned, but still uneaten by the zillions of predators around.  Seems like a tasty meal for some small creature.

IMG_0913

Although these are the common ostrich, these boys are in their full breeding colors.

IMG_0968 

 IMG_1684

IMG_1685

IMG_1691

This is another unusual looking antelope, the hartebeest.

IMG_0973

IMG_0972

We didn’t see too many eland.  These are the heaviest antelope but are surprisingly agile.

IMG_2103

IMG_2100

This little grant’s was eating something green and very hard.  He chomped and chomped and never gave up!

IMG_2028

 IMG_2029

A few birds… although vultures were obviously the most abundant, I’m sure you all have had enough of them. This first one, a hammerkop is one of my favorites… I just love how they look.

  IMG_1304 

The silly helmeted guinea fowl.

IMG_2444   

Fish eagle

IMG_1581

IMG_1580

ground hornbill

IMG_2535

And this amazing bird, the black-and-white casqued hornbill (I think), male and female.

 IMG_2496 

 IMG_2504

IMG_2505

IMG_2500

That’s plenty long for one blog.

3 thoughts on “Masai Mara

  1. Well, Nancy, you did it again! These are all fantastic photos. What a strange looking bird the black and white casqued hornbill is. I have always liked the hammerkops, too. Those baby giraffe are just too sweet. They must be very young as it looks like you can still see the dried piece of umbilical cord still in place on one or more of them?? Great job. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Another great selection, especially the giraffe. I feel like you and I have photographed the same animals, just a couple of weeks apart.

Leave a Reply

