Uganda: Kibale Forest National Park

The purpose of this trip was three gorilla treks.  I have never worked so hard on a vacation, nor have I ever willingly allowed myself to get so wet from rain… if you could even call it rain.  Believe it or not, this was supposed to be the ‘dry’ season.  But in those mountains, you never know.  They have their own micro climate.  I’m going to do this in the order of the places we visited.  Gorilla treks didn’t occur until nearly a week into the trip so you’ll just have to wait.

These next pictures were taken on our way to our first destination in Uganda.

I wrote down eight species of monkeys that we saw.  I could take the time to identify each species that I post, but I’m afraid it will take longer than I am willing to do at this point.

DPP_0012

DPP_0013DPP_0014DPP_0016

The horns on these cows were impressive.  These aren’t the largest that I saw.  These cattle were everywhere.

DPP_0017DPP_0019

We stopped for lunch on the way and were discovered by these boys and the dog.  Everyone got something to eat.

 

DPP_0020DPP_0023DPP_0026

More monkeys on the way.  This I’m pretty sure are colobus, although which kind escapes me.  Sorry the quality isn’t better, but they were so far away.

DPP_0057DPP_0059

I ‘think’ this is a hooded vulture.  I know most people don’t care for them, but I think they’re cool.  If this is the hooded, it’s a new one to me.

DPP_0061

In my three previous trips, I have never seen so many baboons.  They were everywhere, all the time, both countries.

 

DPP_0062

 

DPP_0063

 

We passed many tea plantations…. and sooo many banana plantations.

DPP_0066

DPP_0064

As you can see, we gained considerable altitude for our first stop. Here we visited the Kibale Forest National Park where we would walk through the forests in search of chimpanzees. Everything seemed to be within a veil of mist most of the time so landscape shots were never clear.

DPP_0067

DPP_0068

DPP_0069

DPP_0071

This is the forest we looked for chimpanzees.  We didn’t find too many chimps but had a great time in the forest anyway.

DPP_0074DPP_0073

DPP_0072

The last couple of pictures of this adolescent male doing his best to impress us with his ‘equipment’.  Such impulses do seem to cross species……..

DPP_0076DPP_0078DPP_0077DPP_0080DPP_0081DPP_0082

DPP_0088

DPP_0085

DPP_0086

These are just a few other photos of the forest and the ‘swamp walk’ we took one afternoon.

DPP_0089DPP_0090DPP_0091DPP_0092

DPP_0093

Everywhere in the forests, one of the people, men and women alike, who took us on these walks/treks, carried an AK-47.  I know now what they look like.  The reason for them is to scare off any forest elephants if they happen to come by.  They are too unpredictable and anyone who has been around wild elephants knows how quiet they are when walking.   As much as I want to see one, I guess being face to face with them in the forest wouldn’t be a good idea.  Obviously, they keep their distance.  Humans aren’t exactly quiet.  The closest I came to forest elephants was a pile of elephant dung on our trail on one of the gorilla treks.  I was quite excited to know that they are present in the area.

DPP_0110

I can’t resist taking pictures of the children.  They are ALL cute.  It’s unfortunate that adults do not want to have their pictures taken.  I  definitely get it but their dress and their villages are so colorful and full of life it is difficult to resist the temptation.

DPP_0094

DPP_0095DPP_0096DPP_0097DPP_0098DPP_0099DPP_0101DPP_0103DPP_0104DPP_0105DPP_0107

Papyrus…

DPP_0109DPP_0111DPP_0112

DPP_0100

DPP_0108

Next stop, Queen Elizabeth National Park.

2 thoughts on “Uganda: Kibale Forest National Park

  1. Wow, your first entry for your adventure is so interesting and great photos, too! Looking forward to the rest of the trip! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Darline

  2. It’s a great country Uganda and also Rwanda and I may have read your blog the wrong way round,from end to beginning, but no matter which way you read, your trip photos and your narrative was worth looking at. Thanks for taking us on this great journey. What is planned for next year? And has your life returned to normal after such an adventure.

Leave a Reply

