Zambia: Lower Zambezi

It is difficult to remember what happened where because every place we visited involved water (except for the Kalahari, of course).  The first night it was difficult to fall asleep.  The hippos and hyenas were quite active and noisy.  In none of these camps were we allowed to wander around after nightfall due to the likelihood of night visitors who aren’t too fond of humans.  These are, of course, my favorite type of camp.  Always in the morning you could find the footprints of hippos, elephants, lions and more.   One of the first things we did was visit a cultural village, subsidized by AWF.  This was the people’s request.

The women and men arriving.DPP_1137

The necessary request made of the village elder to proceed.

DPP_1138

Acknowledgement of ancestors…

DPP_1139DPP_1140

The lookout tower for keeping track of elephants that may be approaching the village.  The lookout would ‘drum’ the warning.

DPP_1141

The making of maize flour, which several of our group felt obligated to try.

DPP_1142

And the dancing…

DPP_1144

Which, of course, inevitably leads to  participation of the visitors.

DPP_1145DPP_1146

I asked our guide if I could take her picture.  I loved her hair.  I’ve never seen anything like it.

DPP_1143

And always my favorite part of visiting with the people… taking photos of the children!

DPP_1147DPP_1148DPP_1149DPP_1150DPP_1151

This young man requested that I take his picture and send it to one of our guides. 

DPP_1152DPP_1153DPP_1154DPP_1155DPP_1156DPP_1158DPP_1157

If I ever worried that I wouldn’t see enough hippos, I worry no longer.  There were hippos everywhere.  We took several boat rides, and they were always around.  And, on this trip I saw the biggest crocodiles yet.  Even bigger than the ones on the banks of the Mara River in Kenya.

On the Zambezi, there are many islands.  It must be quite shallow because hippos don’t really swim but ‘walk’ on the riverbed or floor of pools.  This was our first elephant, found on one of these islands that we drove past in the boat.  When you consider how large an African elephant is, you can get a sense of just how high this grass grows.

DPP_1132DPP_1133DPP_1134DPP_1159DPP_1160DPP_1161DPP_1163

DPP_1192a

Many of the elephants we saw on the river were on the Zimbabwe side so we couldn’t get too close… had to stay on ‘our’, the Zambia, side.

DPP_1162

First night stop for sundowners.  A little boring if you don’t drink, but the company makes up for it.  This was a nice group of people.  I was happy to travel with them.

DPP_1135

DPP_1136

Game drive on… land!

This is the first time I’ve seen army ants.  We came upon them several times in their relentless trek to wherever.

DPP_1164DPP_1165

Female kudu.  They are so graceful.

DPP_1168

DPP_1167

One of my favorites, and a pose that would appeal to my students.

DPP_1169

Open billed stork.  These were everywhere.

DPP_1186

Red billed hornbill.  There are so many varieties.  I find them quite appealing.

DPP_1188

I think this is a male bushbuck, but he doesn’t quite match the pictures in my book.  Hopefully, someone will correct me if I’m wrong.

DPP_1189

I think this is the emerald spotted dove.  It’s not particularly interesting to look at, but I love its call.

DPP_1190

Male waterbuck.  No shortage of these around.

DPP_1193DPP_1194DPP_1195a

These are bee eaters.  It’s fascinating to watch them feed.  They sit on a branch, take off catching something I never see, fly back to the branch to eat it.  This is the little bee eater. 

DPP_1196DPP_1197

And this is the white fronted bee eater.  Larger than the little bee eater although they are all small relatively speaking.

DPP_1198

DPP_1199DPP_1201

The baobob tree.  These are so big and so old… easily 2000 years old.  I thought I saw plenty at Mashatu; but here they are everywhere. 

DPP_1172DPP_1173DPP_1174

We stopped for sundowners here.  I suggested a little tree hugging to show just how big these trees are.  They are virtually indestructible.  Even elephants can’t destroy these trees.  If you look carefully you can see someone hugging the tree.

DPP_1181

We took a couple of night drives.  I was quite thrilled to see a genet.  They are strictly nocturnal.  I’ve never seen one before.  However, during another night drive we saw six different genets!

DPP_1182

Not a great leopard shot but I included it because this was the first time I’d seen a red light used to illuminate creatures of the night.  Apparently, the regular lights don’t bother the cats (having seen a leopard bring down an impala with the regular light source, it’s obvious that it doesn’t), but it really does bother other animals.. you know, the ‘deer in the headlights’ look.

DPP_1183

And finally, I got to see a porcupine!  I don’t know how any animal could actually catch one and eat it.

DPP_1185

These vervet monkeys came to raid the vegetables thrown out.  This little guy (or gal) was happily eating a red pepper and not particularly interested in sharing.

DPP_1211DPP_1212

Such a pensive look.. at a bunch of leaves.

DPP_1213DPP_1214

And now a few other photos of the larger beasts.

DPP_1204DPP_1206DPP_1207DPP_1208DPP_1209DPP_1210

DPP_1218DPP_1219DPP_1220DPP_1221DPP_1222DPP_1223DPP_1224DPP_1225DPP_1228DPP_1229DPP_1230

Outa my way!  Look at that wave action…

DPP_1231DPP_1232DPP_1233DPP_1234DPP_1235

All back to normal again, whew!

DPP_1236

Just a photo of this wide, wide river.

DPP_1240

Obviously, this was a canoe trip up a channel of the Zambezi. I was reluctant to take my good camera so I took my little waterproof point and shoot.

IMG_0692IMG_0693IMG_0694IMG_0695IMG_0696IMG_0697

This was one huge crocodile.  It was amazing to be at ground level, so to speak.IMG_0700IMG_0701IMG_0702IMG_0703

I wish it had been hotter so s/he would have been lying there with a wide open mouth!  It would be a ‘unique’ angle for me!

IMG_0705IMG_0707IMG_0708IMG_0709IMG_0711

Next, Victoria Falls and  a small nearby national park.

5 thoughts on “Zambia: Lower Zambezi

  1. Hi Nancy
    What a way to start my day. I didn’t think I would have time to look at every photo before I went to work but I couldn’t stop myself. I absolutely love the photos of the children and am pee green with envy that you got to see a porcupine. Looking at your photos taken from the water really gives a different perspective of what you are photographing. The length of the grass is astounding, is there a time when the grasses are shorter, making it easier to see the wildlife. Love them all and will be back to look over and over again. Can’t wait for the next entry.

  2. Wow….what an amazing trip! My random thoughts: One of the shots of the hippo’s reminded me of my mother-in-law! Kids are precious no matter where they are from! The birds were gorgeous! The leopard, majestic! That was one gi-normous croc!!!! Why did everyone in the village dress alike – and yes, the guide’s hair was awesome! Loved the warthogs! And genets! Looks like it was just wonderful. You can sure tell from your pictures that ‘she’ is in your blood!

  3. Judy, the people were dressed that way while demonstrating some of their customs. I’m just getting started…. still have Victoria Falls, a small reserve that has the last 8 remaining white rhinos in Zambia, Chobe National Park, Okavanga Delta, and finally the Kalahari!
    Thank you both for the positive comments.

Leave a Reply

